Hello! If you're looking for Nite Lite Book Reviews, please note that we've moved to www.nitelitebookreviews.com. If you already subscribe to the blog, our feed has been updated so you don't have to do anything. Thanks for reading and hope to see you at our new home!

22 August 2014

We've Moved!

Hello! If you're looking for Nite Lite Book Reviews, please note that we've moved to www.nitelitebookreviews.com. If you already subscribe to the blog, our feed has been updated so you don't have to do anything. You can also find us on Facebook for more ramblings and other good stuff.

Thanks for reading and hope to see you all at our new home soon.

25 July 2014

Uncovered (118): A Little Something Different

Who says you can't judge a book by its cover? While it isn't always the marker of a good book, it certainly helps when I am making a decision at the bookstore. Uncovered is my weekly post that pays homage to great book covers. Each week I'll talk about one of my current cover loves.

This week's cover love goes out to A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall. I don't know much about this book except that it seems like a quirky romance. I really like the cover though. It looks almost like an embroidery sampler or a drawing from a sketchbook. Unfortunately I can't really see the small details of it so I am not sure how the image is made, but it looks like it's a sketch style drawing. I really like this one because it looks a little handmade. Blue and red are two of my favorite colors together and I like how the red pops next to the dark blue. This is a cover the invites you to look closer so you can see more of it and pick up the small details. The cover includes books, coffee and tiny squirrels, all of which I am a fan of. I also like how the title is framed by the branches so that it stands out on the cover.

This looks like a very cute book and I'd definitely pick it up based on this cover.

18 July 2014

Uncovered (117): Falling Into Place

Who says you can't judge a book by its cover? Uncovered is a weekly post where I show some cover love. Hope you enjoy!

I was hopping around Goodreads recently (as one does) and came across the cover to the upcoming novel Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang and immediately fell in love with it. First, it's illustrated so it already gets points in my book. I love how the title tells its own story in the way that it's written and drawn. The color palette is great and I love how the red pops against the greenish background. If you read the synopsis of the book, this cover makes a lot of sense.
On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.
I think a lot of covers these days can be pretty generic, trying to appeal to a mass audience, and not saying much about the book. I like that this one tells a story and invites the reader to find out more about what that story is.

Unfortunately this one does not come out until September, so I will have to wait until then to see this cover in person. But I am adding it my wishlist now so I don't forget about it. Is anyone else looking forward to this one?

17 July 2014

Audiobook Review: I Don't Know What You Know Me From by Judy Greer

Author: Judy Greer
Narrated by: Judy Greer
Publication Date: April 8, 2014
Publisher: Doubleday, audio by Books on Tape
Genre: Non-Fiction/Celebrity Memoir
Find It: GoodreadsAmazonB&N, Book Depository; Audible
Source: Purchased

You know Judy Greer, right? Maybe from The Wedding Planner, 13 Going on 30, Carrie, Arrested Development, orThe Descendants. Yes, you totally recognize her. And, odds are, you already feel like she’s your friend.

In her first book of essays, I Don’t Know What You Know Me From, Greer writes about everything you would hope to hear from your best friend: how a midnight shopping trip to Walgreens can cure all; what it’s like to wake up one day with stepchildren; and how she really feels about fans telling her that she’s prettier in person. Yes, it’s all here—from the hilarious moments to the intimate confessions.

But Judy Greer isn’t just a regular friend—she’s a celebrity friend. Want to know which celebs she’s peed next to? Or what the Academy Awards are actually like? Or which hot actor gave her father a Harley-Davidson? Don’t worry; Greer reveals all of that, too. You’ll love her because, besides being laugh-out-loud funny, she makes us genuinely feel like she’s one of us. Because even though she sometimes has a stylist and a makeup artist, she still wears (and hates!) Spanx. Because even after almost twenty years in Hollywood, she still hasn’t figured everything out—except that you should always wash your face before bed. Always.

I've been a fan of Judy Greer's for a while now. While she may not be instantly recognizable to some, her acting resume is impressive and varied. She's been in Thirteen Going On Thirty, The Wedding Planner, Arrested Development, The Village and 27 Dresses. One of my favorite roles of hers is Cheryl/Carol from the animated series Archer, in which she plays a psychotic railway heiress who likes auto-erotic asphyxiation, bobcats and country music. She often plays the best friend or kooky co-worker, which suits her well as she seems like she would be a really great girlfriend. In my imaginary celebrity life, she, Sandra Bullock and Jennifer Garner would be a part of my bestie girl crew and we'd have epic dinner parties and sleepovers complete with a dance montage (I said it was imaginary).

I Don't Know What You Know Me From tells the story of Greer's childhood and eventual rise to Hollywood co-stardom. She takes us from the suburbs of Detroit all the way to Hollywood, telling her story through funny anecdotes, letters and journal entries. Greer has a dry wit and self deprecating manner that make you like her, not hate her for getting to make out with the likes of Ashton Kutcher and George Clooney. Greet tends to ramble a little bit, which can be endearing or annoying, depending on your view. I didn't have a problem with it though. The book jumps back and forth in time a lot which I found a little bit confusing at times but didn't detract from the overall experience.

I listened to the audiobook version of this book which is narrated by Greer herself. Greer is a voice over veteran and there is no one better to narrate her story than herself. Listening to her, I can easily imagine that we're just two good friends having a late night chat. I admit that I was a little sad that she didn't yell out any quotes from Archer, but I'll get over it. 

This book is very similar to how I imagine Greer to be - sweet, funny, and down-to-earth. Greer doesn't take herself too seriously and seems genuinely happy and grateful for the career she has. While this book isn't really going to give you any deep insight into the Hollywood system or tons of juicy celebrity gossip, it's a light and entertaining read that made my weekly commute a bit more bearable. I would recommend the audiobook if you can get it, as I think hearing Greer's story in her own voice made for a better read.

*All images are property of the respective film and television studios. Images are meant merely to illustrate Greer's career and no harm or infringement is intended.

16 July 2014

Nalini Sigh #BingeReads Giveaway (US - Ends 7/31)

Hi, everyone! I have a really fun giveaway for you guys today.  A few weeks ago I won a contest on the Binge Reads Facebook Page to become a Nalini Singh Ambassador. Those of you who follow this blog or know me probably already know that I am a big Nalini Singh fan. I just love her writing and think everyone should give it a try. It's got romance but also really great world building. She is one of my auto-buy authors and I am hoping to make her one of yours, too. 

So what am I giving away? So glad you asked. I am giving away 5 copies of the first book in Singh's Psy-Changeling series, Slave to Sensation. That means that there will be 5 winners! Since this giveaway was sponsored by Singh's US publisher, I am going to limit the giveaway to US residents only. Usual giveaway rules apply. Good luck!

Giveaway Rules:
  1. Open to US residents only
  2. We are not responsible for lost, stolen, or damaged items. 
  3. One set of entries per household please. 
  4. If you are under 13, please get a parent or guardian's permission to enter, as you will be sharing personal info such as an email address. 
  5. Winner will be chosen randomly via Rafflecopter widget a day or two after the contest ends. 
  6. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to to the email, otherwise we will pick a new winner. 
  7. If you have any questions, feel free to email us. You can review our full contest policy here
  8. PLEASE DO NOT LEAVE ANY PERSONAL INFO IN THE COMMENTS. Sorry for the caps but we always get people leaving their email in the comments. Rafflecopter will collect all that without having personal info in the comments for all the world (and spambots) to find. Thanks!