18 July 2014

Uncovered (117): Falling Into Place


Who says you can't judge a book by its cover? Uncovered is a weekly post where I show some cover love. Hope you enjoy!

I was hopping around Goodreads recently (as one does) and came across the cover to the upcoming novel Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang and immediately fell in love with it. First, it's illustrated so it already gets points in my book. I love how the title tells its own story in the way that it's written and drawn. The color palette is great and I love how the red pops against the greenish background. If you read the synopsis of the book, this cover makes a lot of sense.
On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.
I think a lot of covers these days can be pretty generic, trying to appeal to a mass audience, and not saying much about the book. I like that this one tells a story and invites the reader to find out more about what that story is.

Unfortunately this one does not come out until September, so I will have to wait until then to see this cover in person. But I am adding it my wishlist now so I don't forget about it. Is anyone else looking forward to this one?


17 July 2014

Audiobook Review: I Don't Know What You Know Me From by Judy Greer

Author: Judy Greer
Narrated by: Judy Greer
Publication Date: April 8, 2014
Publisher: Doubleday, audio by Books on Tape
Genre: Non-Fiction/Celebrity Memoir
Find It: GoodreadsAmazonB&N, Book Depository; Audible
Source: Purchased

You know Judy Greer, right? Maybe from The Wedding Planner, 13 Going on 30, Carrie, Arrested Development, orThe Descendants. Yes, you totally recognize her. And, odds are, you already feel like she’s your friend.

In her first book of essays, I Don’t Know What You Know Me From, Greer writes about everything you would hope to hear from your best friend: how a midnight shopping trip to Walgreens can cure all; what it’s like to wake up one day with stepchildren; and how she really feels about fans telling her that she’s prettier in person. Yes, it’s all here—from the hilarious moments to the intimate confessions.

But Judy Greer isn’t just a regular friend—she’s a celebrity friend. Want to know which celebs she’s peed next to? Or what the Academy Awards are actually like? Or which hot actor gave her father a Harley-Davidson? Don’t worry; Greer reveals all of that, too. You’ll love her because, besides being laugh-out-loud funny, she makes us genuinely feel like she’s one of us. Because even though she sometimes has a stylist and a makeup artist, she still wears (and hates!) Spanx. Because even after almost twenty years in Hollywood, she still hasn’t figured everything out—except that you should always wash your face before bed. Always.

I've been a fan of Judy Greer's for a while now. While she may not be instantly recognizable to some, her acting resume is impressive and varied. She's been in Thirteen Going On Thirty, The Wedding Planner, Arrested Development, The Village and 27 Dresses. One of my favorite roles of hers is Cheryl/Carol from the animated series Archer, in which she plays a psychotic railway heiress who likes auto-erotic asphyxiation, bobcats and country music. She often plays the best friend or kooky co-worker, which suits her well as she seems like she would be a really great girlfriend. In my imaginary celebrity life, she, Sandra Bullock and Jennifer Garner would be a part of my bestie girl crew and we'd have epic dinner parties and sleepovers complete with a dance montage (I said it was imaginary).


I Don't Know What You Know Me From tells the story of Greer's childhood and eventual rise to Hollywood co-stardom. She takes us from the suburbs of Detroit all the way to Hollywood, telling her story through funny anecdotes, letters and journal entries. Greer has a dry wit and self deprecating manner that make you like her, not hate her for getting to make out with the likes of Ashton Kutcher and George Clooney. Greet tends to ramble a little bit, which can be endearing or annoying, depending on your view. I didn't have a problem with it though. The book jumps back and forth in time a lot which I found a little bit confusing at times but didn't detract from the overall experience.


I listened to the audiobook version of this book which is narrated by Greer herself. Greer is a voice over veteran and there is no one better to narrate her story than herself. Listening to her, I can easily imagine that we're just two good friends having a late night chat. I admit that I was a little sad that she didn't yell out any quotes from Archer, but I'll get over it. 


This book is very similar to how I imagine Greer to be - sweet, funny, and down-to-earth. Greer doesn't take herself too seriously and seems genuinely happy and grateful for the career she has. While this book isn't really going to give you any deep insight into the Hollywood system or tons of juicy celebrity gossip, it's a light and entertaining read that made my weekly commute a bit more bearable. I would recommend the audiobook if you can get it, as I think hearing Greer's story in her own voice made for a better read.

*All images are property of the respective film and television studios. Images are meant merely to illustrate Greer's career and no harm or infringement is intended.



16 July 2014

Nalini Sigh #BingeReads Giveaway (US - Ends 7/31)

Hi, everyone! I have a really fun giveaway for you guys today.  A few weeks ago I won a contest on the Binge Reads Facebook Page to become a Nalini Singh Ambassador. Those of you who follow this blog or know me probably already know that I am a big Nalini Singh fan. I just love her writing and think everyone should give it a try. It's got romance but also really great world building. She is one of my auto-buy authors and I am hoping to make her one of yours, too. 

So what am I giving away? So glad you asked. I am giving away 5 copies of the first book in Singh's Psy-Changeling series, Slave to Sensation. That means that there will be 5 winners! Since this giveaway was sponsored by Singh's US publisher, I am going to limit the giveaway to US residents only. Usual giveaway rules apply. Good luck!


Giveaway Rules:
  1. Open to US residents only
  2. We are not responsible for lost, stolen, or damaged items. 
  3. One set of entries per household please. 
  4. If you are under 13, please get a parent or guardian's permission to enter, as you will be sharing personal info such as an email address. 
  5. Winner will be chosen randomly via Rafflecopter widget a day or two after the contest ends. 
  6. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to to the email, otherwise we will pick a new winner. 
  7. If you have any questions, feel free to email us. You can review our full contest policy here
  8. PLEASE DO NOT LEAVE ANY PERSONAL INFO IN THE COMMENTS. Sorry for the caps but we always get people leaving their email in the comments. Rafflecopter will collect all that without having personal info in the comments for all the world (and spambots) to find. Thanks!

13 July 2014

Stacked (115)


Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and The Story Siren, Stacked is a weekly post where I share with you the books that I've bought, borrowed or received for the week.

Hello again! I hope you all had a nice weekend. No big plans for me this weekend, which is kinda nice. I really need to catch up on my reading and knitting so the free time is needed. I still have a mountain of ALA books to read so I haven't acquired too many books this week (at least not physical ones). I received one book for review, which I am really excited about and stocked up on audiobooks.

For Review


Burn For Me by Ilona Andrews - I had a mini freak out session when I saw this one on Edelweiss and saw that I was also auto-approved. Yes, please! I am a huge fan of the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews series and was excited to hear that the duo was writing a straight up romance this fall. While I am not a huge fan of this cover, I am very excited about the insides of this book. 

Bought

I used up all of the Audible credits langushing in my account and purchased on audiobook for super cheap. Guess I need to actually start listening to some of these on my commute now.




Landline by Rainbow Rowell - I was going to hold out and get this in hardcover but funds are a bit tight and I had a bunch of Audible credits. Hoping that the audio version is good.

One More Thing by B.J. Novak - Another celebrity type memoir/book that looks promising. I really like BJ Novak's work on The Office and hope that it translates in to his writing. He also reads it which is a bonus.

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson - I've been meaning to reach one of Matson's books for a while now and this looks like a good summer read. It was also on sale for just $3.99 on Audible.

Tangled by Emma Chase - I've never listened to any type of romance book before and thought I'd give it a try. I've heard good things about this one.

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick - I really loved The Lizzie Bennet Diaries web series and wanted to jump back into that world. It's also read by the actress that played Lizzie in the web series which should be fun. 

Even though I have a long commute now, I don't listen to a whole lot of audiobooks. Clearly this needs to change and I have a whole slew of them to get through. Big thanks to Lucy at The Reading Date whose blog I mined for audiobook recs. Besides just having a great blog, Lucy listens to tons of audiobooks and reviews them. Her blog is a great resource when you need an audiobook rec. 

Thanks for hanging out, everyone. Have a great Sunday!


11 July 2014

Uncovered (116): I'll Give You the Sun


Who says you can't judge a book by its cover? While it isn't always the marker of a good book, it certainly helps when I am making a decision at the bookstore. Uncovered is my weekly post that pays homage to great book covers. Each week I'll talk about one of my current cover loves.

This week's Uncovered post is all about I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I fell in love with the cover the second I saw it. It's a very simple cover but one that pushes all of my buttons. I love a good rainbow and this is a beautiful rainbow hued cover. I love the simplicity of it and the radiating lines give the cover a feeling of something bursting or exploding. The title is front and center and I like that the blurb and author's name follow the lines of the color rays and don't interrupt the flow of the cover.

There's not much else I can say about this. It's very simple but extremely pretty and eye catching. I can't wait to get this one!